'Kia kaha, kia kaha maia, kia manawanui - Be strong, have confidence and determination. Life is what you make it...'

Hinewai Clark, awardee, at the Auckland award ceremony 2017

Open for applications 17th July 2023

Scroll down for more information on the awards.

If you have any questions, please contact: awards@newhorizonsforwomen.org.nz

Please note: You will need to sign up to register on the applications website. Once registered, you will be able to start your application. You can return to complete your application at another time, by signing back in. This video shows how to continue a partially completed application.   View The Video

Teupoko'ina Utanga Morgan Memorial Innovation Award

1 award - $5000

About this award

Teupuko’ina Utanga Morgan was the director of Anau Ako Pasifika Inc. from its inception in the early 1980s until her retirement. She was an early NHWT:HK Trustee (appointed 1992), was highly respected as an advocate for women’s leadership and was awarded a QSM for services to the community in 1986. Anau Ako Pasifika Inc. was supported in its establishment by the Bernard Van Leer Foundation in the Netherlands. The fund for these awards was established in 2012 when Anau Pasifika Incorporated donated a major part of its remaining funds to NHWT:HK on the understanding that the money would be used for Second-chance awards for women of Pacific descent to study early childhood education, or for awards for innovation in Pasifika early childhood education. The first of these awards was made in 2013. The Second-chance award and Innovation award are offered on alternate years.

Purpose of the Award

The purpose of the Teupoko'ina Utanga Morgan Memorial Innovation Award is to advance Pasifika early childhood education.

Early childhood education refers to both informal and formal preschool teaching of young children by people outside the family or in settings outside the home. The Award is provided by a donation from the trustees of the Anau Ako Pasifika Incorporated.

It is for an established innovation in early childhood education that advances at least one of the following:

  • programme management

  • the learning environment

  • interactions between pre-school children, their families and communities.

Preference will be given to innovations shown to be sustainable and of benefit to the wider Pasifika community in New Zealand.


Eligibility criteria

Before you apply please ensure you meet all the following eligibility criteria:

  • A woman or a group led by a woman, who are New Zealand citizens (or hold a resident class visa) and who;

  • Are undertaking an innovation that advances Pasifika early childcare education

  • Identify as Pasifika (at least 70% of a group must identify as Pasifika ethnicity)

  • Have the support of an early childhood service and/or Pasifika community

Applicants may make multiple applications for the same innovation in subsequent years.

Selection criteria

When selecting awardees, the selection panel considers the following:

  • The relevance of the innovation to the purpose of the award

  • Evidence of progress and sustainability

  • Financial circumstances

  • Experience of the applicant(s), particularly their ability to contribute to achieving the purpose of the innovation

  • Benefit to the advancement of Pasifika early childhood education and/or Pasifika preschoolers in New Zealand


If you are eligible for this award, please complete the online application form from 17th July 2023 and submit it by the closing date 16th August 2023.

Please click the following link to download
TUMM Innovation Award 2021.pdf