'Kia kaha, kia kaha maia, kia manawanui - Be strong, have confidence and determination. Life is what you make it...'

Hinewai Clark, awardee, at the Auckland award ceremony 2017

Open for applications 17th July 2023

Scroll down for more information on the awards.

If you have any questions, please contact: awards@newhorizonsforwomen.org.nz

Please note: You will need to sign up to register on the applications website. Once registered, you will be able to start your application. You can return to complete your application at another time, by signing back in. This video shows how to continue a partially completed application.   View The Video


Teupoko'ina Utanga Morgan Memorial Second-chance Education Award

1 award - $3000

Purpose of the Award

The Teupoko'ina Utanga Morgan Memorial Education Award is for a Pasifika woman who is studying towards a qualification in early childhood education. Early childhood education refers to both informal and formal preschool teaching of young children by people outside the family or in settings outside the home. The Award is provided by a donation from the trustees of the Anau Ako Pasifika Incorporated.

Selection criteria

When selecting awardees, the selection panel considers the following:

  • Evidence of academic progress

  • Financial and personal circumstances 

  • Life experiences of the applicant 

  • contribution towards Pasifika early childhood education and/or Pasifika preschoolers in New Zealand

If you are eligible for this award and wish to apply, please complete the online application form from 17th July 2023 and submit it by the closing date 16th August 2023.

About this Award

Teupuko’ina Utanga Morgan was the director of Anau Ako Pasifika Inc. from its inception in the early 1980s until her retirement. She was an early NHWT:HK Trustee (appointed 1992), was highly respected as an advocate for women’s leadership and was awarded a QSM for services to the community in 1986. Anau Ako Pasifika Inc. was supported in its establishment by the Bernard Van Leer Foundation in the Netherlands. The fund for these awards was established in 2012 when Anau Pasifika Incorporated donated a major part of its remaining funds to NHWT:HK on the understanding that the money would be used for Second-chance awards for women of Pasifika descent to study early childhood education, or for awards for innovation in Pasifika early childhood education. The first of these awards was made in 2013. The Second-chance award and Innovation award are offered on alternate years.