'Kia kaha, kia maia, kia manawanui - Be strong, have confidence and determination. Life is what you make it...'

Hinewai Clark, awardee, at the Auckland award ceremony 2017

Open for applications March 2022

If you have any questions, please contact: enquiries@newhorizonsforwomen.org.nz

Please note: You will need to sign up to register on the applications website. Once registered, you will be able to start your application. You can return to complete your application at another time, by signing back in. This video shows how to continue a partially completed application.   View The Video

Purpose of the awards

The NHWT:HK Research Awards are for women who are conducting research that benefits women and/or girls in New Zealand. The awards are a one off grant to help with your research and/or living expenses.

Value of the awards

2 awards of $5,000:

The Margaret Shields Research Award

The Ria McBride Research Award

Eligibility criteria Before you apply please ensure you meet all the following eligibility criteria:

A woman (or group of women) who:

  • Is engaged in research that benefits women and/or girls in New Zealand

  • Is a New Zealand citizen or holds a resident class visa

  • Lives in New Zealand

  • Has not previously received a NHWT:HK Research Award

  • You may apply if you have previously received a NHWT:HK Second-chance Education award or Specific Purpose Award

Selection Criteria

When selecting awardees, the selection panel considers the following:

  • Quality of the proposed research project (including Methodology)

  • Project schedule and evidence of progress

  • Financial circumstances

  • Researchers capability to conduct the research project

  • Benefit to women and/or girls in New Zealand

NOTE: Preference will be given to applicants who have started their research project and whose work is at Masters, PhD or postdoctoral level.

If you are eligible for these awards, please complete the online application form from 1 March and submit it by the closing date 15 April 2021.

Research Awards